Author Topic: What We Tell Patients about Depression, and What They Say They Have Been Told  (Read 2197 times)

Pip

• Administrator
  • Super Hero
    • Soul of Adoption
https://www.psychiatrictimes.com/pt-provider-toolkit?utm_source=sfmc&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=01_19_21_PT_PUR-21-PSD0238_RegScheNL_Adhansia%20-INTL&eKey=cGhpbGlwcGExOTYxQGdtYWlsLmNvbQ==

What We Tell Patients about Depression, and What They Say They Have Been Told
January 12, 2021
Ronald W. Pies, MD

Since my interview with Awais Aftab, MD, I have received a good deal of feedback on my positions, both pro and con. Upon further reflection, I would like to clarify my position regarding the following comments I made in the interview:

"And, yes we often hear anecdotes concerning patients who tell their current clinician some version of, ‘My psychiatrist said I have a chemical imbalance .....’ But where is the evidence that this is what patients were actually told? Who has contacted the patient’s psychiatrist, or reviewed his/her case notes, to see if that was really what the patient was told? To my knowledge, there has never been a study examining the other side of the story and, to be clear: patients are not infallible recorders of what their doctors tell them."