Author Topic: Hi  (Read 2654 times)

Jem1976

Hi
« on: October 04, 2013, 09:56:04 PM »
Hi,

I'm Jem and I'm 37, married to Gizmoe for nearly 10 years.  I work full time as a deputy manager of a small hotel.

Looking back I think I have suffered from depression for pretty much all of my adult life.  I have had 2 severe (for me) stages one was 2 years ago (when I gave up smoking) and the other was about 8 years ago.  The first time I was prescribed Prozac but had an allergic reaction and ended up taking 2 weeks off of work, the doctor changed my prescription to citalopram but I never took it.  The 2 weeks was all I needed to relax and rest and get myself back to my version of normal.

2 years ago I gave up smoking and got really down.  The stop smoking nurse told me that it could take up to 6 weeks for my chemicals to adjust.  As it was affecting my job I went on Citalopram which did really help but made me very, very sleepy (to the point where I would go to the loo in the night and fall asleep sat on the loo!)  I stayed on the anti-depressants for 3 months then asked to be weened off - my doc did say they would prefer me to stay on them for 6 months but was supportive of my decision.  I have since started smoking again, which maybe I wouldn't have done had I stayed on them.