Author Topic: Newbie in need of help and direction.  (Read 3711 times)

Lee80

• Karma Group
Newbie in need of help and direction.
« on: July 12, 2013, 09:45:03 PM »
Hi all,
Well after years of suffering from severe depression I have eventually stumbled upon this forum.
I'm new to all this so please bare with me, I've suffered and battled for many years and only just this week been given some medication and appointments with counsellors and mental health nurse after years if been told "your just down" or "your bored" and "time will sort it all out".
So basically hello too all.

Pip

• Administrator
  • Super Hero
    • Soul of Adoption
Re: Newbie in need of help and direction.
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2013, 09:54:30 PM »
Hi Lee,

Severe depression is something I do understand as I've suffered with it for getting 40 years although I wasn't officially diagnosed until 2005.  People mean well by their comments but it isn't helpful as they don't understand what you're going through.

Lee80

• Karma Group
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2013, 10:00:44 PM »
Hi pip,
Yes I know it must be hard for some "outsiders" to understand and I probably don't help matters as I have always found it hard to open up to people and talk. And to add too it I've just lost my wife and kids through divorce so obviously that hasn't and doesn't help, my now ex wife knew I was suffering from depression but couldn't help me and didn't feel comfortable talking to me as when I began to get upset she would begin to get angry and start shouting at me which in turn became an arguement.
Thank you for the welcome!

craig84

• Karma Group
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2013, 02:23:52 AM »
welcome lee!

hope your keeping your strength up, can imagine how hard things must be for you right now but we're here to listen.