Author Topic: Long standing depression  (Read 5954 times)

CcMan

Long standing depression
« on: March 05, 2012, 12:48:23 PM »
Hello all, this is my first time posting on a board, but I'll give it a shot and see how it goes.

Im in my mid 30s, and for the majority of my life I have dealt with fear of a variety of things. Starting even at 5 years old I remember being made fun of because of my name. I used to hide from the bus in order to make my parents take me to school. I was never really popular in school although at the time I wish I was.

I went through most of my teenage years this way until I expanded my horizons in college, where I was able to open up a little. But of course, I fell for a girl that was really not into me, and when she started dating someone else, I ended up failing out of college and finishing up my degree elsewhere.

During that time I landed my dream job, which seemed to make it all worth it, but shortly thereafter I met who was to be my future wife (this was ten years ago).

When we first got together, I realized there were some things wrong. For example, she often drank excessively during that time, and I tried to nurse her back so to speak. Then she started hating gifts that my mom would send her for birthdays, etc, and it got to the point where I had to tell my mom not to send gifts anymore, which of course hurt my mom. Slowly I backed away from friends and family.

Anyway since then we have two beautiful kids, but I can't help but feel completely alone. I am a manager at work, and I feel completely overwhelmed trying to manage my fear and anxiety. At home I feel totally out of control. Whatever my wife has going on (and she has a lot by the way) is paramount, but my concerns appear to be second priority.

I was on depression medication off and on last year, an it only left me a shell of a person.

I feel horrible and I don't know what to  do.

Sweetpea

• Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
Re: Long standing depression