Author Topic: im new to this  (Read 5298 times)

milkyjoe

• Karma Group
im new to this
« on: February 22, 2016, 07:16:19 AM »
hi everyone,

im a constant worrier, mainly about my own health. I manage to convince myself i have a terminal illness and my brain will then do its best to manifest the symptoms. the biggest problem i have is everytime i go through this it leaves me with insomnia and severe panic attacks with depression.

I have been on 20mg of citalopram for about 3 years now. my doc raised it to 40mg as im struggling now. I dont feel any different other than i get more twitchy and my anxiety level is raised. does the higher level of citalopram kick in straight away or have i got to wait?. The only way at the moment to get some sleep is to drink alcohol which i know isnt the best thing to do. im hoping u guys could give me some words of wisdom as i dont see this situation ever improving.

could citalopram just not be working?

thanks for reading my problem

Amanda_George

• Please be gentle with me!
  • Administrator
  • "Auntie Banana"
    • Amanda's ultimate navigation to all her webpages
Re: im new to this
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2016, 12:47:55 PM »
Welcome to the forum, Joe!  Could you introduce yourself in the new members part of the forum so that we can get to know you better?

I'm on 40mg of Citalopram too but I don't know how to answer your question.  Sorry!  Could you maybe ask your GP to refer you to a psychiatrist because meds are their speciality.   :happy0158:
Money talks, chocolate sings!  :-D

May your life be as pleasant as you are.

Greys0n

• Karma Group
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2016, 10:16:45 AM »