Author Topic: What I have learnt  (Read 5528 times)

wallflower

• Karma Group
What I have learnt
« on: October 13, 2012, 03:37:25 PM »
I was unfortunately diagnosed with depression January this year and have still not fully recovered having been on and off meds and going through counselling etc. I am studying to be an Occupational Therapist (had to take temporary leave)... wondered if anyone has seen one and their experiences? When I finish my course (March 2013)... it used to be an IF I finished my course but I have to work towards something so I am trying to think positively... I have SO much to take forward into my therapy. Having had a mental illness and been through depression (again I am looking to the future with the hope of getting through this depression or at least managing to cope with it) I have SUCH a better understanding of all the debilitating features of depression and how utterly lonely and hopeless one can feel. I did a placement 2 years ago in an acute mental hospital and was thinking about it today, how different my perspective is. Don't get me wrong I really felt for all the patients but at the same time didn't understand fully. I can now say I totally can relate and I want to help people eventually. My support system has been really &$%+ (excuse the french) and I am effectively having to 'treat' myself and remind myself everything I have learnt, applying it to myself is a very different story though and it is tough!

Anyway, sorry for the ramble but I thought I would share. I have to take something positive away from this year of hell..

Zaf

• Banned
  • Super Hero
Re: What I have learnt
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2012, 10:21:45 AM »
I had several encounters with OTs when my dad was dying, some were good, some were useless  :-\

Z xxx
Certain things catch your eye, but pursue only those that capture your heart.

Leo

• Karma Group
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2012, 08:36:15 AM »