Author Topic: Interview with Paul Albert – CFS, depression, food sensitivities  (Read 12698 times)

Tigger

http://bacteriality.com/2007/11/10/interview10/

Interview with Paul Albert – CFS, depression, food sensitivities
Author: Amy Proal

This cyclist had to put away his bike in 2002 due to CFS. But today, this New York City resident, who has also conquered his depression, is psyched to be riding again thanks to Autoimmunity Research Foundation’s Marshall Protocol. Paul Albert will now take your questions.

What did you do for fun before you became acutely ill?
Starting in college, I rowed crew. I was not much of a technical rower, but I got pretty good at pulling the oar hard. Crew was just what I needed at the stage in my life.

When I graduated from school, I went on to do triathlons, which include swimming, biking, and running. One of the last biathlons (which is just running and biking) I did, I went from 30th place or so after the run to third place after the bike. It occurred to me then that I could be pretty good on the bike.

In 2001, I blew out my knee a second time, and that kind of sealed it: I would race my bike exclusively. I started to train in earnest, putting in as many miles as I could. My favorite event was the time trial. I was pretty good at putting in a consistent effort and staying just below my red line for a long period of time. One time, I got a lactate tolerance test (LTT) and my coach, who is now my friend, said that my LTT was the highest he’d ever seen. Yup, I’m really good at suffering.

I also took great joy in training, the long rides through the leafy countryside, seeing a doe and a fawn on a misty morning, the flipping off of RV drivers trying to run me off the road. I also liked the camaraderie with teammates. At one point, I had hoped to go pro.