General > I need to vent!

Unemployment frustrations

(1/10) > >>

lostmyway:
Hi all

I have been looking for a job since 2013 and i STILL don't have another job. Do the DWP expect me to live on fresh air, or is that expected these days?  As previously mentioned I have been studying for a degree since 2013 also, and am still doing it.  I look on Indeed for something to apply for, and find practically nothing.. and when I do find something I get no reply whatsoever?

I am only 45 and am not ready to retire just yet. Voluntary work is fine but it doesn't pay any bills.  I honestly do not know what to do for the best.  I have never been able to move out as I have never had a job that paid enough money. I had one for 13 years but that was low-paid and had a lack of prospects.  I am completely in limbo and dont know what to do anymore.  There is a job club in my local town that is held once a week but that's about as much help as you can expect around here from anybody.  It's a very depressing situation to be in and do not know what to do next.

I applied for 3 jobs last week but got no reply.

Amanda_George:
Might be worth applying for ESA and PIP?  It's far from ideal but better than nothing until you find a job.  The ones that don't reply to you aren't worth bothering with, I reckon... if they can't send a reply to you out of politeness, they may not care about their employees that are already there either?

Don't give up, keep trying... there's something out there for you!

lostmyway:
Hi Amanda_George

Thanks for your kind words.  I don't think I am eligible for ESA/PIP.  Because I bothered to save something, I can't apply for JSA anyway, so basically my NI stamp isn't getting paid and consequently it may affect my state pension in the future.  Due to the kindness of my mother I stay where I am but it is VERY emasculating for somebody my age.  Maybe I should pray every night and something might happen?

Regards

Amanda_George: