Author Topic: Newbie here - sorry about the massive post;)  (Read 2099 times)

crystalmagpie

• Karma Group
Newbie here - sorry about the massive post;)
« on: March 27, 2010, 08:21:32 PM »
Hi there,
    I'm 23 and have suffered from various mental health issues for as long as I can remember. When I asked my friend the other day when her earliest memory of me being depressed was, she replied that she can never remember me being truly happy. My friend has known me since I was 5 years old.
    My Dad left when I was 4 years old. I was a bright child and knew exactly what was happening. He popped every so often over the years, when the guilt started to affect him, I guess, but each time would bring a few visits, empty promises and then another couple of years of no contact. It wouldn't have been so bad, had my mother not become angry, self-obsessed bully. She coped with my Dad's betrayal by blaming it all on me and my brother. I spent my entire childhood being punished physically and emotionally for my Dad's mistakes.I coped with what was happening to me by binge eating and eventually became buliemic.
    Just before my 16th birthday, my friends and I went to a 15-24's camp, accompanied by my friend's mum. I thought I had made friends and for most of the week I could forget who I was and what my life was really like. Then the night before we were due to leave, one of the older boys who had seemed to really look after us during the activities, and whom I considered to now be my friend, raped me. The next day,I told my mum and she just asked, "Are you finished?" before turning the TV on. Even I never believed she could be so cold.A few months later, I left school and my dreams of going to university, and moved into my own flat. I was really depressed and struggled by getting into more and more debt.