Author Topic: Why do people kick you when your down?  (Read 3736 times)

HillsongFan

Why do people kick you when your down?
« on: June 07, 2014, 03:05:56 PM »
I had a really bad spell of depression in my teenage years, ending up in me leaving school and lashing out at people, at that time nobody saw the depression only the behavior caused by it. I felt judged by everybody which added to the depression and was a vicious cycle until I hit rock bottom at bible camp (of all places) and managed to get past it. I lost five stone, went back to school and started a healthy relationship. I'm now in my twenties and married and have had another slow building depression, started off as low mood and anxiety and through counselling the anxiety has subsided.

But I have terrible low motivation and daily mild depression. I also get a much deeper depression for a few days at a time. I'm back to my old weight :( even though I am doing my degree from home (Open University) I am not a fantastic student and I'm really struggling with mess and clutter. I feel people are kicking me when I'm down and judging me as lazy again.  Have a friend who lectures me on housework, decorating, not working, how little my husband earns and my weight. I feel like people expect me to change so much in such a short space of time, I don't even know where to begin. Just sat here in a shame spiral because of all the little nasty comments. I know I should start the housework but feel very shamed into it to be honest. Sorry for rant but not sure how to get out of the cycle this time.
When you judge someone it doesn't define who they are, it defines who YOU are.

If people were rain I was drizzle and she was a hurricane

Pip

• Administrator
  • Super Hero
    • Soul of Adoption
Re: Why do people kick you when your down?
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2014, 08:18:30 PM »