Author Topic: Career crisis.....  (Read 4213 times)

EmLou210

• Karma Group
Career crisis.....
« on: January 05, 2014, 10:01:51 PM »
Hi Everyone

I'm putting this post on here really because I just need to vent.

Recently, I seem to have had a lot of anxiety issues. The smallest things make me paranoid and nervous. Even activities that I'm used to doing every day e.g. going to work etc, seem to make me feel anxious.

The main thing though that's bothering me is the fact that my postgraduate uni course finishes this year and I have absolutely no idea what I'm going to go afterwards. I'm currently studying Scriptwriting. Unlike many other degrees or vocational courses, it doesn't really lead to a career or any jobs. It's a really tough industry to break into and I haven't really realised that until now.

So when the course finishes I am likely to be stuck and searching for a job. Problem is, I'm not really qualified for anything. Even though it's months until my course ends I keep obsessively looking on job websites at all sort of different jobs and I don't fit the criteria for hardly any of them.

I'm now stressing majorly about what I will do when my course finishes and I have a million questions constantly running through my head everyday such as...what do i want to do? what am i actually qualified to do? what if i start a job and don't like it? do i stay at home in the countryside? do i try to move to somewhere where the job prospects are better? etc etc etc

I guess the main reason I'm posting this is to vent but also to see if anyone else has ever been in a similar situation? I'm nearly 23 now and a lot of my friends are just starting their careers and getting impressive jobs, houses, cars etc and I'm still studying and living at home with no real idea of what I want to do or what my purpose is in life. I feel like I'm in limbo and I don't know how to get out.

Thanks for reading

Emma

Pip

• Administrator
  • Super Hero
    • Soul of Adoption