Author Topic: Venlafaxine & side effects on eyes  (Read 2791 times)

insignificant81

Venlafaxine & side effects on eyes
« on: November 04, 2012, 09:14:21 PM »
Hi everyone...
Im completely new to all this. I was diagnosed with major depression 3 years ago although i suffered in silence and denial for a long time before diagnosis. I was on Fluoxetine and then Citalopram but maxed them both out and was then put on Venlafaxine....i take 150mg twice a day.

At the start of the year i had a really unfortunate mix up with my doses and was only taking 75mg twice a day for 3 days by accident....and the effects were absolutely horrible. I literally couldnt get out of bed....felt sooo sick and dizzy, all my muscles ached and i was extremely paranoud and suicidal. Once the mix up was noticed and i started taking my correct dose all went back to normal.

A couple of months ago i noticed my eyes seemed a bit "strange"....cant put my finger on exactly what had changed, but decided to get it checked out at the opticians. She carried out all the usual tests etc and told me my eyes looked absolutely fine.....except that my pupils are completely different sizes and that they are "sluggish"when light is shined into them. She then took photographs of my eyes and photos through to the back of my eye and the optic nerve etc, although the photos of my left eye were dark as my pupil is pin-pointed. She then checked my peripheral vision by asking me to focus on a light and press a trigger when i saw a small flash of light appear....my right eye scored 48/50 but left scored 27/50 which she said is a severe abnormality. When checking my drug history and the drug BNF she confirmed that this is a very rare side effect of Venlafaxine and advised me to visit my Consultant and change to another medication.