Author Topic: Looking for advice from people who understand despression  (Read 5272 times)

desposy

• Karma Group
Looking for advice from people who understand despression
« on: January 13, 2014, 11:33:18 PM »
I'm new here (obviously) and am looking for advice from anyone who understands the postion I'm in.
I'm male, 22, live with my parents in a run down area of the valleys in south wales. I have shoulder length hair and some well kept facial hair, I drive and own a car.

I am unemployed as of august and finding job searching very hard going and it is already taking a big toll on me despite 6 months work over the summer. I was an outdoor activity instructor but due in part to a long term gastric illness and my ongoing depression, in part due to the stress, the years of unemployment, underpayment and insecurity that I now associate with the industry and in part to my qualifications becoming invalid I am now unable and entirely disinterested in looking for work there anymore and as such I am looking to change careers, but this also isn't going well, despite the fact I have a few different career worthy skill sets.

My social life and skills have improved staggering recently as I have begun to recover but a lack of money is having a crippling effect on my life at the moment. several years ago I made a conscious decision to avoid love/romance in my life because it has been one of the largest sources of pain in my life, I have however just developed feelings for someone who I'm fairly certain doesn't reciprocate them.

so that's me. My main question is should I carry on trying to persue some meaningful career that will be enjoyable/fulfilling or should I start looking for work on my local dustbins or similar to start getting some money in and at least be moving on in someway? Has anyone here had to make a decision like this in my situation and how did it affect your depression? Any and all other advice is welcome.

Pip

• Administrator
  • Super Hero