Author Topic: Mood stabilisers - what are they like?  (Read 3724 times)

whiteadder

• Karma Group
Mood stabilisers - what are they like?
« on: June 11, 2012, 01:20:39 PM »
I think it's likely I'll be put on some sort of mood stabiliser. I think my GP wants to wait til I've seen the psychiatrist. Anyway, I've been on various anti-depressants before but never mood stabilisers. What does it feel like on something like lithium? Do people find mood stabilisers helpful?

:) x :(

;)
"It is no measure of health to be well adjusted to a profoundly sick society." Jiddu Krishnamurti

Buttercup

• Banned
Re: Mood stabilisers - what are they like?
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2012, 02:05:00 PM »
Hi

I am Bipolar.  My GP told me that this was what she thought but it had to be confirmed by a psychiatrist.  I was lucky in that my GP phoned for an appointment there and then and I saw the psychiatrist 2 days later, this was 4 months ago, so I'm quite new to this although I've battled for years.

As far as mood stabilisers go, I don't take Lithium instead I take Lamotrigine.  This is partly as it has fewer side effects and partly that I get mixed episode and also dysphoric highs rather than the typical euphoric ones. 

Lamotrigine has a very slow titration rate due to the risk of developing a life threatening rash, I only got to 200mg about 1 month ago and I think that this will be increased further at some point.  I do find it very beneficial, yes I'm not right yet but I am an awful lot better than I was.

Side effect wise, I've had none, unlike anti depressants, when I briefly took them, that made me feel awful.

I can't take anti d's they tend to flip me into a manic state.

Anyway good luck.

whiteadder

• Karma Group
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2012, 03:04:25 PM »
Thanks Buttercup x