Author Topic: Work, or lack of  (Read 779 times)

Laura

• Karma Group
Work, or lack of
« on: December 02, 2011, 11:03:17 PM »
I was made redundant at the end of 2008. Possibly because I couldn't cope with the company I worked for... there was no work for me and I wasn't in a fit state to find stuff to do.
I spent the next 6 months helping to care for my dad in his final weeks.
Since then I haven't had the confidence to apply for jobs.

It's a twofold thing.
a) I don't feel up to dealing with people and don't think I am able to 'sell' myself to a prospective employers
b) All the jobs I have had have been pretty much bottom of the pile, filling envelopes, tidying filing cabinets etc, despite the fact I'm a graduate with a high IQ and some good ideas. I was never asked my opinion on anything that mattered and in one job was actively bullied. I really don't want to go back to the kind of work that increases my sense of being valueless.

I am lucky in that Dad left me an income of sorts, though not enough to pay for everything I have to borrow money from Mum. Of course we are also in a period of such poor employment figures that every job has dozens of applicants (I don't cope well with getting no reply to a CV etc) so I am competing with a lot of people, some of whom have much higher confidence levels.

Also, my sister, who was always supposed to be the family dunce, got straight As in exams and a first at Uni and now has a high powered managerial position in a multinational media company. It feels like she got my life somehow. (Although I wouldn't be able to cope with the hours she works).

At the moment my lack of academic success despite being predicted to do very well, lack of career, lack of fulfilling employment is driving me nuts. I guess I need to accept I'm not as clever or special as people told me I was when I was a kid but I still don't think I can go back to envelope stuffing.
Tea please, decaf, with milk and a sweetener.

Got

• Karma Group