Author Topic: Starting to come off effexor/venlafaxine - I'm frightened!  (Read 3318 times)

lonely99

Starting to come off effexor/venlafaxine - I'm frightened!
« on: July 15, 2012, 01:09:29 AM »
I've been on effexor for years, up to 225mg.  I don't feel better,  I've never felt that it has helped.  Reading about the withdrawal has worried me for a long time and I decided I don't want to be on this drug any more.  I also worry about coming off it when I want to have a baby (not that it is likely, given that I'm single and destined to be alone).  I'm a teacher, and off work for the summer for another 4 weeks so I wanted to start coming off it while I'm not working.  This in itself is a problem, because I get very down when I'm not working.  I have nothing to get up for.

I've dropped down to 150mg for the past 2 days.  I feel really down, but was feeling bad anyway because I haven't seen anybody I know in almost two weeks.

I'm really frightened about what I might be in for with regards to withdrawal.  I live alone and my family live hundreds of miles away.  I'm also worried that I might be unable to continue tapering down when I go back to work if I get too bad.

All I've read are horror stories.  Has ANYBODY had an ok experience coming off this drug??

Zaf

• Banned
  • Super Hero
Re: Starting to come off effexor/venlafaxine - I'm frightened!
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2012, 06:18:05 AM »
No sorry, have you asked your doctor about this ?  xx
Certain things catch your eye, but pursue only those that capture your heart.

Ducky

• Karma Group
    • Mandalay Emporium
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2012, 07:41:01 AM »
I w/d slowly from that one without any ill effects, best to see your GP who, like mine, can consult their local psychiatrist for the correct w/d programme. They did this for me as I am now w/d from Seroxat after 15 years, from 60mg a day am now down to 40mg before switching to another anti-depressant.

Good luck

Ducky

Sweetpea

• Global Moderator
  • Super Hero