Author Topic: what shall i do about this feeling  (Read 2263 times)

neety41

what shall i do about this feeling
« on: January 06, 2010, 11:04:23 PM »
to cut a long story short, 3 years ago i was found to have a rare tumour, several admissions and painful surgeries were had and then i went onto treatment to shrink the rest of it, a year later i collapsed and the treatment had caused haemorrhaging ovarian cysts, more surgery, ovaries removed and immediate menopause (I was 43 and had no womb anyway).  I had been ill for 2 years by then.  7 weeks post op and i suddenly felt very 'low' and took an overdose, nearly died, had crisis team visiting me at home, took Citalopram for a few months and was told i was 'deeply depressed' by the psychiatrist.  Went back to work soon after the OD cos i felt i needed to.  That was 2 years ago next month.  I am a nurse and always thrived on the pressures of the job.  I have been having regular MRI scans as this tumour does tend to return and I found out in Nov that it has, 2cm of it.  A bit of a surprise cos it was thought it probably wouldn't without the hormones of the ovaries to 'feed' it.  More treatment has been started and Since then I have started to have 'lows' again, a new boss who irritates me doesn't help and I handed in my notice and got a new job (returning to an old one with the same stress levels tho), i start that job on monday.  I am not sure i can do my job anymore, i was crying at work tonight, i just can't cope with it like i used to, i feel sad most of the time, want to stay at home but then i get bored and want to do something but won't go out and enjoy myself, i just seem to have lost interest, i feel like i want to give up work and go for walks (sounds odd that i know), sit in the garden (in summer!) and generally have no responsibilities, not an option as a single mum of a teen girl.  I just don't know what to do, i feel that staff levels have decreased and so i have been on and off night shifts for weeks and t